Sir Thomas Wyatt (1503-1542)

A Renouncing of Love

Farewell, Love, and all thy laws forever!
Thy baited hooks shall tangle me no more.
Senec and Plato call me from thy lore
To perfect wealth my wit for to endeavor.
In blind error when I did persever,
Thy sharp repulse, that pricketh aye so sore,
Hath taught me to set in trifles no store,
And ‘scape forth, since liberty is lever.

Therefore, farewell! Go trouble younger hearts,
And in me claim no authority.
With idle youth go use thy property,
And thereon spend thy many brittle darts.
For hitherto though I have lost all my time,
Me lusteth no lenger rotten boughs to climb.

“The enemy of life”

The enemy of life, decayer of all kind,
That with his cold withers away the green,
This other night me in my bed did find,
And offered me to rid my fever clean;
And I did grant, so did despair me blind.
He drew his bow with arrow sharp and keen,
And struck the place where love had hit before,
And drove the first dart deeper more and more.

“Throughout the world”

Throughout the world if it were sought,
Fair words enough a man shall find;
They be good cheap, they cost right nought,
Their substance is but only wind.
But well to say and so to mean,
That sweet accord is seldom seen.

“Madam, withouten many words”

Madam, withouten many words,
Once, I am sure, ye will or no.
And if ye will, then leaves your bordes,
And use your wit and show it so.

And with a beck ye shall me call.
And if of one that burneth always
Ye have any pity at all,
Answer him fair with yea or nay.

If it be yea, I shall be fain.
If it be nay, friends as before.
Ye shall another man obtain,
And I mine own and yours no more.

Leave a Reply

